Douglas Named In Scotland Side

Saints prop recalled ahead of World Cup.

Luke Douglas has been named in Scotland’s squad ahead of the forthcoming World Cup.

He is joined by Kane and Andrew Bentley of Toulouse Olympique as well as Warrington three-quarter Matthew Russell, Wigan winger Lewis Tierney and Scotland’s most-capped player, Danny Brough of Huddersfield.

With injuries ruling out NRL Grand Finalists Lachlan Coote (ankle) and Kane Linnett (who requires an elbow operation) of North Queensland Cowboys, Leigh Centurions hooker Liam Hood (knee operation), Penrith Panthers pivot Peter Wallace (broken ribs and hand) and long-term injured Euan Aitken (shoulder) and Billy McConnochie (ACL), coach Steve McCormack has turned to a clutch of up and coming talents from the NRL and stalwarts of the Scotland scene.

Forward James Bell of NZ Warriors, Sydney Roosters’ Jarred Anderson, and Penrith Panthers’ centre or wing Lachlan Stein are included for the first time, as are Bradford Bulls’ youngster Brandan Wilkinson and Shane Toal – who scored 28 tries for Barrow in their promotion campaign – both of whom came through the Scotland Under-19 pathway.

“It’s just reward for those players,” said coach Steve McCormack. “Brandan has played nearly every week in the Championship for Bradford in difficult circumstances this year and has developed massively. And Shane has been a stand-out in League One and topped it all by scoring the try that got Barrow promoted last week. They are proof that there is talent coming through our pathway.”

It will the youngest squad Scotland have sent to a World Cup, with three 20-year-olds (Wilkinson, Anderson and Hull KR forward Kieran Moran, an uncapped member of last year’s squad), 21-year-olds Stein and Toal, and three more players aged 23 or under.


Alex Walker (London Broncos, 3)
Andrew Bentley (Toulouse Olympique, 0)
Ben Hellewell (London Broncos, 15)
Ben Kavanagh (Hull KR, 14)
Brandan Wilkinson (Bradford Bulls, 0)
Callum Phillips (Workington Town, 5)
Dale Ferguson (Huddersfield Giants, 14)
Danny Addy (Hull KR, 14)
Danny Brough (Huddersfield Giants, 23)
David Scott (Batley Bulldogs, 13)
Frankie Mariano (Featherstone Rovers, 2)
James Bell (New Zealand Warriors, 0)
Jarred Anderson (Sydney Roosters, 0)
Johnny Walker (Darlington Point Roosters,6)
Kane Bentley (Toulouse Olympique, 0)
Kieran Moran (Hull KR, 0)
Lachlan Stein (Penrith Panthers, 0)
Lewis Tierney (Wigan Warriors, 3)
Luke Douglas (St Helens, 8)
Matthew Russell (Warrington Wolves, 8)
Oscar Thomas (Bradford Bulls, 6)
Ryan Brierley (Toronto Wolfpack, 2)
Sam Brooks (Featherstone Rovers, 3)
Shane Toal (Barrow Raiders, 2)

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders