Proudly Founded in 1873 • 2019 Super League Champions

Buy Tickets

Man of Steel Shortlist Named

Captain James Roby and star full back Ben Barba have both been named on the three-man shortlist for the 2018 Steve Prescott Man of Steel.

Chosen by a poll of every Betfred Super League player, the award is presented to the individual deemed by his peers to have had the biggest impact in the Betfred Super League this season.

Roby and Barba join Wigan’s John Bateman on the shortlist.

The most prestigious individual honour in Rugby League was renamed the Steve Prescott Man of Steel in 2014, in memory of the sport’s hugely respected player, former St Helens, Hull FC, Wakefield player Steve Prescott MBE.

The award will be presented at the event hosted in Manchester on Monday October 8 and it will also feature other awards, including Coach of the Year, Club of the Year, Foundation of the Year and Young Player of the Year.

For the latter, our forward Matty Lees has been named alongside Castleford Tigers half-back Jacob Trueman and Leeds full back Jack Walker.

Players must be under 21 years of age at the start of the season to be considered for the Young Player of the Year award.

Congrats to all and best of luck!

Newsletter Sign Up

Register now to receive regular updates from St.Helens R.F.C. including the latest news, interviews and offers


Principal Club Partners

Totally Wicked logo
O'Neills logo
LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Hattons Solicitors logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo
Cheshire Concrete logo

Official Club Partners