Quartet of youngsters included in 19 man squad for first time

Josh Eaves, Callum Hazzard, Josh Simm and 17 year old Lewis Dodd have all been included in Justin Holbrook's 19 man squad for the first time ahead of the visit to London Broncos on Sunday.

Holbrook revealed earlier this week that he will give youth a chance against London on Sunday with a Coral Challenge Cup Semi Final looming and a number of players carrying niggling injuries or illnesses and he has stood by his word naming four potential debutants in his 19 man squad.

There is a total of nine changes in all as Jonny Lomax, Tommy Makinson, Kevin Naiqama, Mark Percival, Theo Fages, Player of the month Alex Walmlsey, James Roby, Luke Thompson and Lachlan Coote all drop out.

Danny Richardson gets another chance as does Adam Swift whilst Joseph Paulo has recovered from the injury he picked up against Warrington. Matty Costello comes back in as does young Joe Batchelor who is included for the first time since the win over Catalans back in April. Jack Welsby is another to return having not featured since the defeat against Sunday’s opponents, London, back in June.

There are also inclusions for young hooker Josh Eaves, who was part of the unbeaten Academy Championship side in 2016 and has impressed on loan at Leigh this season playing six times for the Championship club. Loose forward, Callum Hazzard, has been recalled from his loan with North Wales Crusaders where he has scored five tries in 16 appearances. Centre, Josh Simm, grandson of Saints legend Geoff Pimblett, has racked up 23 tries in a staggering 13 appearances for the Academy and is another who has impressed at Leigh and he gets a chance.

And 17 year old half back Lewis Dodd is included for the first time having scored 16 tries in 17 for the Academy and kicked an impressive 81 goals so far this season.

The young inclusions means there is a total of 13 Academy products in Saints’ 19 man squad for this week’s clash with London and further emphasises the strength of the club’s youth system.


St.Helens 19 man squad:

5. Regan Grace, 7. Danny Richardson, 12. Joseph Paulo, 13. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook 15. Morgan Knowles, 16. Kyle Amor, 17. Dom Peyroux, 18, Adam Swift, 19. Matty Lees, 20. Jack Ashworth, 21. Aaron Smith, 22. James Bentley, 24. Matty Costello, 25. Joe Batchelor, 27. Josh Eaves, 28. Callum Hazzard, 29. Jack Welsby, 30. Josh Simm, 31. Lewis Dodd.

London 19 man squad:

6. Jordan Abdull, 13. Sadiq Adebiyi, 8. Eddie Battye, 23. Robert Butler, 7. James Cunningham, 26. Sam Davis, 5. Kieran Dixon, 17. Matt Fleming, 14. Matty Fozard, 16. Matt Gee, 3. Ben Hellewell, 10. Mark Ioane, 4. Elliot Kear, 30. Olsi Krasniqi, 12. Jay Pitts, 15. Greg Richards, 1. Alex Walker, 2. Rhys Williams, 20. Luke Yates.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders