Five Saints make up Super League Dream Team

Lachlan Coote, Tommy Makinson, Kevin Naiqama, Luke Thompson and Morgan Knowles have all made Super League's Dream Team for 2019.

The 2019 Dream Team has been selected by the Man of Steel panellists from a shortlist created by the season-long points-based system that will be used to select the 2019 Steve Prescott Man of Steel.

St Helens’ Makinson, who was recently named as the Super League’s top try scorer for the season, is the most experienced, making his third appearance and he joins Luke Thompson in featuring for the second consecutive year, whilst Coote, Naiqama, Thompson and Knowles all feature for the first time.

Warrington Wolves, Leeds Rhinos and Salford Red Devils each have two in the 13 and Castleford Tigers’ prop Liam Watts has made the team for first time. Watts is one of nine debutants in the class of 2019 – the most since 2016.

Super League CEO Robert Elstone said: “It’s a stellar line-up and a team that highlights many of our modern-day greats.

“The Dream Team tells the story of the Super League season and this has perhaps been the best ever.

“We’ve seen the dominance of a brilliant St Helens, the emerging challenge from Salford Red Devils and a spread of talent from other clubs which has underlined the competitiveness and unpredictability of the league.

“Not surprisingly it has also got fans talking – and arguing – and with so many great options, it’s made for some healthy debate.

“Congratulations to all those selected. It’s well-deserved.”

Chairman of the Man of Steel panel, Ellery Hanley added: “Each and every one of these players is a credit to the 2019 Super League season.

“Their consistently high performances throughout the year backs up their credentials as worthy members of the Dream Team.

“As we head into the play-offs I’m sure some of these players will once again step up to dominate games for their sides and put them on the course for Old Trafford and the biggest night in Super League. Congratulations to them all”

The full 13, with heritage numbers, is below:

1.     Lachlan Coote, St Helens (177)

2.     Tommy Makinson, St Helens (138)

3.     Kevin Naiqama, St Helens (179)

4.     Konrad Hurrell, Leeds Rhinos (180)

5.     Ash Handley, Leeds Rhinos (178)

6.     Blake Austin, Warrington Wolves (182)

7.     Jackson Hastings, Salford Red Devils (181)

8.     Liam Watts, Castleford Tigers (183)

9.     Daryl Clark, Warrington Wolves (142)

10.  Luke Thompson, St Helens (174)

11.  Josh Jones, Salford Red Devils (184)

12.  Liam Farrell, Wigan Warriors (150)

13.  Morgan Knowles, St Helens (185)

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders