2020 End of Season Award Winners

Find out who picked up the big prizes at tonight's End of Season Club Awards proudly sponsored by Totally Wicked.

This year unfortunately we could not have our wonderful fans in attendance so the Club Awards took place behind closed doors at the Totally Wicked Stadium within the first team ‘bubble’. The winners were shared live on our Twitter and Facebook channels.

It was a memorable year for the Saints as we backed up 2019’s success with another Betfred Super League Grand Final success – and what a night it was!

We celebrated the season’s successes with our 2020 Club Awards night and we are proud to announce the winners below:

Young Player of the Year

James Bentley has had a wonderful season at the Club. He played 19 times this season, scoring four tries and earnt rave reviews from both Saints fans and Super League alike for his work ethic. He finished second in the Super League rankings for marker tackles with 160 and finished in the top five when it came to tackles overall with 636. He has been key to Saints success this season and will hope to kick on again in 2021.

Members Player of the Year

Alex Walmsley was voted Members Player of the Year with 33% of the votes. Big Al has been colossal in 2020 playing 20 times and scoring 10 times – quite a feat for a prop forward! His rampaging runs caused havoc in opposition defences and that is emphasised as he finished second in the Super League rankings when it came to tackle busts with 78 and third in terms of metres with 2242. He played his 200th Saints game in the Grand Final win – a game which saw him battle through the pain of a knee injury which saw him lift his third Super League crown. He was also named in the 2020 Super League Dream Team.

Try of the Year

Regan Grace was voted by the fans the winner of the Try of the Season award. Regan picks up the award for the second season running after his quite brilliant burst from his own half against Leeds Rhinos at Emerald Headingley was shared around the rugby league world. It truly was a memorable hat-trick and a try which will live long in the memory. There was also a Grand Final winning try which may also have rivalled Regan’s if the votes were collated this week…

Players’ Player of the Year

Our captain, Mr perpetual motion was voted by his peers as the 2020 Players’ Player of the Year winner. He led from the front as he always does with his attitude and work ethic. He got through over 530 tackles this season, ran 85 times from Dummy Half and fittingly was named Harry Sunderland Winner in the Betfred Super League Grand Final. What a player.

Player of the Year

Morgan Knowles picked up the Player of the Year award – voted by Head Coach Kristian Woolf. Morgan joined Alex Walmsley in the Super League Dream Team for 2020 and caused some damage in the forward pack in 2020. He got through 533 tackles and finished sixth best in the league when it came to marker tackles. Playing regular 80 minutes at loose forward, Knowles’ work often goes unnoticed but he is certainly well regarded by the Club. Congratulations Morgan on a wonderful season.

Chairman’s Award

Over the past few years Chairman Eamonn McManus has presented an award to an individual for their outstanding contribution to the Club. Jodie Cunningham won the award last year for her fantastic efforts in promoting Women’s rugby league. This year our Stadium Manager, John Murphy is the winner. Thank you John for all your efforts this year and every year in ensuring the stadium and surrounding areas are fit for purpose especially with all the Covid-19 protocols you have had to put in place. Not only has John’s work allowed us to be in a position to play games Behind Closed Doors, but the team has moved into the Stadium and have also trained full time from the venue – which again is a testament to John’s efforts. John has been on hand 7 days a week to help the team achieve its goals while also supporting the game in a wider context with the BCD games.

Here is a full list of the 2020 award winners:

Young Player of the Year: James Bentley
Members’ Player of the Year: Alex Walmsley
Try of the Year: Regan Grace
Players’ Player of the Year: James Roby
Chairman’s Award: John Murphy (Club Stadium Manager)
Player of the Year: Morgan Knowles

You can watch highlights of all our award winners on our Twitter and Facebook channels!

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders