Two Saints Women in Ireland Women’s Train On Squad

Two Saints Women have been included in Ireland's inaugural train on squad with a total of 20 UK based representatives selected and a further 20 to be added following an Ireland trial, which is to be confirmed as soon as government guidance both in the UK and Ireland allows the coaching staff to travel.

Philippa Birchall and Sarah Lovejoy are the two Saints selected by Head Coach John Whalley following an encouraging first trial in the UK last Saturday.

Eleven players currently play in the Betfred Women’s Super League in England and qualify through Irish heritage, with additions of players from the Betfred Women’s Super League South, Women’s Championship as well as two Rugby Union players who make the cut.

Speaking on the announcement, Whalley said: “I am delighted to name my first 20 players to be part of the Ireland Women’s Rugby League team. With some great experience and some fantastic youth involved, I’m looking forward to getting the group together now. It’s a real positive start moving into sorting the next 20 over in Ireland in the coming weeks. We can’t wait to get started.”

2021 Rugby League Ireland Train On Squad in full:

Storm Cobain (Bedford Tigers)
Stacey Greenwood (Bradford Bulls)
Lucy Juffkins (Golden Ferns)
Chloe James (Dewsbury Moor)
Francessca Copley (Featherstone Rovers)
Gabrielle Harrison (Featherstone Rovers)
Grace Morley (Leigh Miners)
Mairead Quinn (Leigh Miners)
Mollie Young (Leigh Miners)
Rachel Eastwood (Oulton Raidettes)
Philippa Birchall (St Helens)
Sarah Lovejoy (St Helens)
Kate McMullan (Tarleton RU)
Rebecca Anderson (Wakefield Trinity)
Lydia Egan (Warrington Wolves)
Megan Garvey (Warrington Wolves)
Hannah Cleaver (Widnes Vikings)
Aimee Wood (Wigan Warriors)
Paige Costello (Wigan Warriors)
Bethany Lambert (York City Knights)

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders