SCDF named runners up at this years Pride of St Helens Awards.

NHS heroes, Saints Community Development Foundation and Johnny Vegas were among those saluted on a glittering and emotional night at the Pride of St Helens Awards, sponsored by the Mikhail Group.

In the first major local community awards celebration since the pandemic, outstanding people and organisations were highlighted for their contributions to the town.

Judges said the selection process was the most difficult in the event’s history and every shortlisted nominee that was present received a trophy.

The event, organised by the Steve Prescott Foundation and media partners the Star, was high on emotion with the winners who could attend taking to the stage to speak with host Fraser Dainton, of Sky Sports.

Founded in 2012, the event is aimed at raising aspiration across St Helens by highlighting inspiring stories of achievement, resilience, courage and talent.

Johnny Vegas collected the Pride of St Helens award for his contribution to his hometown during lockdown – when he was a key part of the emergency supplies hub being run out of the Eccleston Arms – and a highly successful career in the entertainment industry that spans more than two decades, Saints Community Development Foundation and Dr Greg Irving became runners up for their fantastic work during the pandemic.

Mikhail Hotel and Leisure Group Pride of St Helens Awards

Lannyman Child of Courage Award


Clark Doyle
Leah Bennett

JC Kitchens Young Community Star:


Darcy Fleming

Highly commended

Daniel Marsh

AJ White

St Helens Borough Council Young Sportsperson of the Year:


Eleanor Cairns

Highly commended

Niamh May

Scout Wilson-Bonner

Assured Life Charity Champion: 


Amanda Fieldhouse & Louise Johnson

Highly commended

Vicky Ford
St Helens MIND

Imperial Bar & Terrace Arts Award:


Jude Riordan

Highly commended

Miguel Doforo

Cath Shea and St Helens Arts Service

Paramount Digital Courage Award:


Deborah Ainsworth

Highly commended

Michael Thompson

Melissa Grace McComas

Handepay Unsung Hero Award:

Paul Llewellyn

Highly commended

Cabbage Hall CIC
Stephen Mousdell
Mark Hayes

Saints Sportsperson of the Year


Jodie Cunningham

Highly commended

Harry Coppell

Alex Walmsley

Torus Family of the Year:


Hobin family: Mark and Leanne

Highly commended

Smith family: Ian and Yvonne

Nye Family: Joanne, Gareth and

The Kirkfield Lockdown Award:


St Helens Together

Highly commended

Blackbrook ARLFC

Newton Community Centre

Accord Wills Emergency Services Hero: 


St Helens and Knowsley Hospitals NHS Trust

Toast Cafe Special Achievement Award:


St Helens Rugby League club

Mikhail Hotel and Leisure Group Pride of St Helens Award:


Johnny Vegas

Highly commended

Dr Greg Irving

Saints Community Foundation

Steve Prescott Foundation Special Recognition Award


Alex Chicken

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders