Proudly Founded in 1873 • 2021 Super League Champions • 2021 Challenge Cup Winners

Buy Tickets

Academy Origin II: Six Saints set for Sunday showdown 

Paul Anderson, Head of England Pathways, has chosen the Lancashire and Yorkshire teams for the second of this year’s three-match Academy Origin series, at Salford’s AJ Bell Stadium tomorrow (Sunday 26 June, 5.15pm).

Lancashire make four changes to the side that defeated Yorkshire 56-34 at Widnes last month. Including St Helens stand-off Ellis Archer who will start alongside Ben Lane, Sam Haynes, George Delaney and Kalan Devine. McKenzie Buckley will provide impact from the bench.

Lancashire are coached by Shane Eccles, a long-serving member of the Wigan Warriors scholarship and academy systems, with the Leeds Rhinos Academy coach and former England and Great Britain player Chev Walker holding the reigns for Yorkshire.

Academy Origin has this year returned to its three-match format this summer following the enforced cancellation of the entire 2020 programme and a Covid-curtailed 2021. Academy Origin II follows Salford Red Devils home match against Wakefield Trinity, which kicks off at 3pm. The third and final encounter takes place at Wakefield on Sunday 24 July.

Lancashire team 

  1. Ben Lane (St Helens)
  2. Jacob Douglas (Wigan Warriors
  3. Zach Eckersley (Wigan Warriors)
  4. Sam Haynes (St Helens)
  5. Jake Thewlis (Warrington Wolves)
  6. Ellis Archer (St Helens)
  7. Leon Hayes (Warrington Wolves)
  8. Harvie Hill (Wigan Warriors)
  9. Aiden Doolan (Warrington Wolves)
  10. George Delaney (St Helens)
  11. Nolan Tupea (Warrington Wolves)
  12. Junior Nsemba (Wigan Warriors)
  13. Kalan Devine (St Helens)
  14. Ben Hartill (Wigan Warriors)
  15. McKenzie Buckley (St Helens)
  16. Jamie Reddecliff (Warrington Wolves)
  17. Max Wood (Wigan Warriors)

Yorkshire team

  1. George Flanagan Jnr (Bradford Bulls)
  2. Riley Lumb (Leeds Rhinos)
  3. Connor Barley (Hull Kingston Rovers)
  4. Manoa Wacokecoke (Hull FC)
  5. Lewis Martin (Hull FC)
  6. Sullivan Medford (Hull FC)
  7. Myles Lawford (Bradford Bulls)
  8. Matt Laidlaw (Hull FC)
  9. Denive Balmforth (Hull FC)
  10. Nick Staveley (Hull FC)
  11. Charlie Severs (Hull FC)
  12. Adam Holroyd (Warrington Wolves)
  13. Bailey Arnold (Bradford Bulls)
  14. Alfie Edgell (Leeds Rhinos)
  15. Toby Warren (York City Knights)
  16. Lucas Green (Warrington Wolves)
  17. Ellis Hobson (Wigan Warriors)

England RL Academy is part of the RFL’s talent pathway, which also includes England Knights and the senior men’s squad. Several members of Shaun Wane’s England squad are graduates of this pathway, including Matty Lees and Jack Welsby of St Helens who made their international debuts last Saturday against the Combined Nations All Stars.

Newsletter Sign Up

Register now to receive regular updates from St.Helens R.F.C. including the latest news, interviews and offers


Principal Club Partners

O'Neills logo
LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners