Saints’ Good Friday Derby squad named

Paul Wellens has named his 21-man squad for this Friday’s huge clash against Wigan Warriors at the DW Stadium, with kick-off scheduled for 3pm.

It’s the traditional Good Friday meeting between the Saints and the Warriors, one of the biggest fixtures in the rugby league calendar. This round of Betfred Super League fixtures is RIVALS ROUND, and our long, storied rivalry with Wigan began all the way back in 1895 and has produced some of the best and most talked about moments in our sport’s history.

St Helens Head Coach Paul Wellens makes just two changes to the squad that was named for the game against Wakefield, with Sione Mata’utia and Jake Wingfield both back in contention. Mata’utia missed out last week due to head injury protocols, whilst Wingfield has a slight shoulder issue meaning he missed our last two matches but could return to the field on Friday.

Alex Walmsley picked up a hamstring injury at the start of last week’s game, and Wellens has confirmed the prop will likely miss four weeks of action, meaning he will be unlikely to play until after the international break.

The Red V come into the game on the back of a 38-0 success over Wakefield Trinity, making it three wins on the spin in the league after hard-fought, battling victories over Huddersfield Giants and Hull FC in the weeks prior.

Friday’s hosts are also in good form, like Saints they too are on a three-match winning run; edging past both Salford and Huddersfield before comfortably beating Leigh last Thursday evening.

Over 5,000 of our St Helens supporters are heading over for The Derby, having sold out our extended away allocation of tickets on three occasions, so it will be an electric atmosphere on Friday afternoon!

21-man squad vs Wigan Warriors

1. Jack Welsby, 2. Tommy Makinson, 3. Will Hopoate, 4. Mark Percival, 5. Jon Bennison, 6. Jonny Lomax, 7. Lewis Dodd, 9. James Roby, 10. Matty Lees, 11. Sione Mata’utia, 13. Morgan Knowles, 14. Joey Lussick, 15. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 16. Curtis Sironen, 17. Agnatius Paasi, 18. Jake Wingfield, 19. James Bell, 22. Sam Royle, 23. Konrad Hurrell, 25. Tee Ritson, 30. George Delaney.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders