Saints squad announced for Derby Day

St Helens’ 21-man squad for this Friday’s match against Wigan Warriors in THE DERBY has been announced, with kick-off scheduled for 8pm at the Totally Wicked Stadium.

It is always one of the games that supporters look out for when fixtures get announced, the home match against Wigan.

Our fierce rivalry with the Warriors dates back all the way to 1895, and it has created some of the best and most talked about moments and matches in rugby league history, and on Friday, the latest chapter gets written.

Paul Wellens makes just one change to the side he named for last Sunday’s demolition over Huddersfield Giants, 48-6, at St James’ Park in Newcastle for Magic Weekend. Jake Wingfield steps out of the squad declaration with Morgan Knowles returning following a two-match suspension.

Friday’s visitors will be looking to bounce back after a heavy defeat to Catalans Dragons in Tyneside on Saturday, 22-46, however, the Warriors do sit in third heading into Round 15 and will aim to keep their position in the league table.

Saints are looking to make it five wins in a row, a run which started with a special occasion for James Roby and a victory over Salford Red Devils in the middle of May. Wellens’ charges then secured a spot in the quarter-finals of the Betfred Challenge Cup by besting Halifax Panthers at The Shay, and two more league wins followed with the drama of Golden Point at Leeds, and a clinical performance over Huddersfield last Sunday.

Friday night’s game at the Totally Wicked Stadium is fast approaching a HOME SELL OUT, with the West Stand already SOLD OUT and highly limited availability in a number of areas in our home areas at the Totally Wicked Stadium.

Not got a ticket yet? Read our latest update on ticket information HERE!

21-man squad vs Wigan Warriors

1.Jack Welsby, 2. Tommy Makinson, 3. Will Hopoate, 4. Mark Percival, 5. Jon Bennison, 6. Jonny Lomax, 7. Lewis Dodd, 8. Alex Walmsley, 9. James Roby, 10. Matty Lees, 11. Sione Mata’utia, 12. Joe Batchelor, 13. Morgan Knowles, 14. Joey Lussick, 15. Louie McCarthy-Scarsbrook, 16. Curtis Sironen, 17. Agnatius Paasi, 19. James Bell, 23. Konrad Hurrell, 25. Tee Ritson, 30. George Delaney.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders