Welsby shortlisted for Man of Steel

Jack Welsby has been named in the three-player shortlist for the 2023 Steve Prescott MBE Betfred Super League Man of Steel Award!

It marks the second successive season that the Saints’ #1 has made it to the final three contenders for the most coveted individual Super League award. The Man of Steel Awards since 2014 has been named after former St.Helens full-back Steve Prescott MBE, who sadly passed away the previous November at the age of 39 after an inspirational seven-year battle against a rare form of stomach cancer.

It has been another incredible season in the Red V for ‘Super Jack’ who has been an ever-present for the World Club Champions. Heading into the Semi-Finals of Super League 2023, Welsby has made 27 try assists to date, as well as scoring 12 tries of his own. Shining on both sides of the game, Welsby has also displayed an incredible last line of defence with memorable tackles aplenty in the campaign.

For a third straight year too, Jack was named in Super League’s Dream Team, the annual ‘Best Of’ selection from the competition.

For the last five seasons, the winner has been determined by points awarded to the outstanding players in every Betfred Super League fixture by a panel of former players chaired by Ellery Hanley MBE.

Should Jack be the recipient of the Steve Prescott MBE Betfred Super League Man of Steel Award, he would make history as the Club’s tenth winner of the accolade.

  • George Nicholls – 1978
  • Sean Long – 2000
  • Paul Sculthorpe – 2001 & 2002
  • Jamie Lyon – 2005
  • Paul Wellens – 2006
  • James Roby – 2007
  • James Graham – 2008
  • Ben Barba – 2018

Welsby is joined by fellow contenders; Wigan Warriors’ Bevan French and Catalans Dragons’ Tom Johnstone – the winner out of the three outstanding Super League talents will be announced on Tuesday, 10th October at Emirates Old Trafford at Rugby League’s Awards Night.

Rugby League’s Awards Night for 2023 will be the biggest and most inclusive event of it’s kind yet, with the winners of more than a dozen other awards celebrated, including the 2023 Woman of Steel, and the first winner of the Wheels of Steel as the year’s outstanding player in Wheelchair Rugby League.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders