England Squad Named

JON Wilkin and James Roby have been named in the England 21-man squad for the forthcoming International Origin opener against the Exiles at Langtree Park, St Helens on Saturday June 16 (6.45pm).

The squad includes ten players who were involved in the 2011 Gillette Four Nations and four players who are uncapped.

From the original ETS squad selected in March, 12 players have not been selected including Warrington prop Adrian Morley, Leeds’ Ryan Bailey and Catalan Dragons hooker Ian Henderson.

ETS members Zak Hardaker (Leeds Rhinos), Ben Jones-Bishop (Leeds Rhinos) and Jonny Lomax (St Helens) have been selected in the England Knights squad that will play Ireland preceding the International Origin match at Langtree Park.

“We have a number of players who are injured (Danny McGuire, Kallum Watkins, Ben Westwood and Kirk Yeaman) that haven’t been considered for selection this time,” added England Coach Steve McNamara. “For the other players that have missed out, the door is still open and it is important that they continue to work hard in the domestic competition with a view to getting back in the squad.

“It is a pleasing situation to be in. We have competition for places right across the team and every player knows that they have to perform week in, week out if they are going to be part of the England programme.

“Every match counts as we continue the build-up to next year’s Rugby League World Cup and with the increasing number of high quality players emerging across Super League, and not forgetting our Australian based players in the NRL, we have a bright future at international level.”

The squad will meet up at their Loughborough base on Monday and McNamara will announce his team to face the Exiles next Thursday.

England Squad:

Carl Ablett, Ryan Atkins, Tom Briscoe, Danny Brough, Rob Burrow, Garreth Carvell, Josh Charnley, Rangi Chase, Eorl Crabtree, Leroy Cudjoe, Ryan Hall, Gareth Hock, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Lee Mossop, Sean O’Loughlin, Jamie Peacock, James Roby, Kevin Sinfield, Danny Tickle, Sam Tomkins, Jon Wilkin.

England Knights Squad:

Jodie Broughton, Chris Clarkson, Paul Clough, Mike Cooper, Rhys Evans, Liam Farrell, Dale Ferguson, Mark Flanagan, Lee Gaskell, Zak Hardaker, Josh Hodgson, Danny Houghton, Ben Jones-Bishop, Jonny Lomax, Shaun Lunt, Jermaine McGillvary, Larne Patrick, Stefan Ratchford, Chris Riley, Matty Smith, Scott Taylor, Liam Watts, Gary Wheeler.

Tickets for the opening International Origin Game of 2012 at Langtree Park, St Helens, on Saturday June 16 (6.45pm) cost from £18 (£9 concessions) for standing and £21 (£10 concessions) seating and are available at www.rugbyleaguetickets.co.uk or by contacting the RFL Ticket Office on 0844 856 1113.

You can buy £29 and £24 central North and South Stand tickets from Langtree Park.

England Knights take on Ireland at Langtree Park, Saturday June 16, kick off 4.30pm.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders