Saints Trio Called Up

JONNY Lomax, James Roby and Jon Wilkin have been named in the England Squad for the second game of the 2012 International Origin Series against the Exiles at the Galpharm Stadium on Wednesday July 4 (7.45pm).

Warrington Wolves utility player Stefan Ratchford and Salford City Reds duo Matty Smith and Jodie Broughton have also been drafted into the side.

England coach Steve McNamara has rested Ryan Hall and Kevin Sinfield of Leeds Rhinos, Wigan Warriors players Sam Tomkins and Sean O’Loughlin and Castleford Tigers Rangi Chase.

“The second Exiles game gives me the opportunity to see some of the players that have been part of the Elite Training Squad and the England Knights programme in what should be a physical contest against a very good side,” he said. “Stefan (Ratchford), Matty (Smith) and Jodie (Broughton) were excellent for the Knights against Ireland last month and deserve their call up to the senior squad. I’m looking forward to seeing their next phase of development and how they adapt in the elite squad.”

With Jamie Peacock retiring from international Rugby League earlier this week, McNamara will decide his captain for the match when he announces his side next week and the England coach is no hurry to appoint a long-term successor to Peacock.

“I have a number of options in respect of the new captain for England and I’m in no hurry to make an announcement,” added McNamara. “The captain I appoint for the Exiles game will be just for that game.

“I will keep an open mind and assess a number of factors before revealing who will take the team forward as our leader on the field. We have a number of strong candidates both here in the Super League and also from the England players playing in the NRL.”

The squad will meet up at their Leeds base on Sunday evening and McNamara will announce his team to face the Exiles on Monday.

Carl Ablett, Ryan Atkins, Tom Briscoe, Danny Brough, Jodie Broughton, Rob Burrow, Garreth Carvell, Josh Charnley, Eorl Crabtree, Leroy Cudjoe, Gareth Hock, Jamie Jones-Buchanan, Jonny Lomax, Lee Mossop, Stefan Ratchford, James Roby, Matty Smith, Danny Tickle, Jon Wilkin.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders