Duo Receive World Cup Nods

JAMES Roby and Anthony Walker have been called up for the Rugby League World Cup.

They have been selected in the England and Wales squads respectively.

England begin their preparations with a training camp in Potchefstroom, South Africa. The majority of the squad travel to South Africa on Wednesday (October 2) with the remaining players, involved in the Super League Grand Final, joining up on Monday October 7.

They have a warm-up game against Italy on Saturday October 19 at the Salford City Stadium (kick off 4.30pm) with the England Knights also in action on the same day against Samoa (kick off 2.00pm).

England start their Rugby League World Cup 2013 campaign on Saturday October 26 when they take on Australia at the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff (2.30pm).

Their other group matches are England v Ireland, Saturday November 2, John Smith’s Stadium, Huddersfield (2.30pm) and England v Fiji, Saturday November 9, KC Stadium, Hull (2.30pm).

England squad:

Carl Ablett, Tom Briscoe, George Burgess, Sam Burgess, Tom Burgess, Rob Burrow, Josh Charnley, Rangi Chase, Leroy Cudjoe, Liam Farrell, James Graham, Ryan Hall, Zak Hardaker, Chris Hill, Gareth Hock, Michael McIlorum, Lee Mossop, Sean O’Loughlin, James Roby, Kevin Sinfield, Sam Tomkins, Kallum Watkins, Ben Westwood, Gareth Widdop.


Wales will stage a warm-up match on Tuesday October 15 at Eirias Park in Colwyn Bay when they will take on a Welsh Rugby League Select XIII.

They will then face Italy at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday October 26, as part of a double header of matches including England v Australia which follow the RLWC2013 Opening Ceremony.

The co-hosts’ campaign continues with a clash against the USA in Wrexham on Sunday November 3 before taking on Cook Islands in Neath in their final group match on Sunday November 10.

Wales squad:

Neil Budworth, Ross Divorty, Gil Dudson, Ben Flower, Rhodri Lloyd, Jake Emmitt, Jordan James, Ben Evans, Elliot Kear, Rhys Evans, Rhys Williams, Dan Fleming, James Geurtjens, Danny Jones, Craig Kopczak, Larne Patrick, Peter Lupton, Rob Massam, Christiaan Roets, Matt Seamark, Anthony Walker, Ian Webster, Lloyd White.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders