A hat-trick of Saints honours at Super League Awards Night

Justin Holbrook has been crowned Betfred Super League Coach of the Year, Matty Lees is the Betfred Super League Young Player of the Year and Tommy Makinson was crowned top try scorer at Super League's Award ceremony at The Lowry on Sunday.

Holbrook, in his final season at the Saints has led the club to his second successive League Leaders’ Shield finishing a record 16 points clear of the rest, as well as a Wembley appearance and a first Grand Final for five years. He fought off competition from Salford’s Ian Watson, London’s Danny Ward and Warrington’s Steve Price to take home the prize.

England Knights prop, Lees, who enjoyed a terrific year until suffering season-ending perforated bowel against Leeds Rhinos the week before Wembley, took the Young Player of the Year award which was voted on by the rugby league media. He beat off stiff competition from Jake Trueman, Harry Newman, Jack Walker and Morgan Smithies.

Makinson collected his top try scorer award after bagging 23 tries this season as well as being named Super League’s top meter maker.

Lachlan Coote was pipped to the Steve Prescott Man of Steel Award by Salford’s Jackson Hastings whilst Courtney Hill took home the Telegraph Women of Steel award ahead of Saints’ Emily Rudge. Warrington Wolves were crowned Foundation of the Year ahead of Saints Community Development Foundation.

Full list of winners, as follows:

Foundation of the Year– Warrington Wolves.
This award recognises the great work being done by Betfred Super League clubs in their communities and across Physical Disability Rugby League and Learning Disability Super League.

Fans’ Entertainer – Jackson Hastings (Salford Red Devils)
Fans from each club debated and voted for the one player who got them on the edge of their seat more than any other. This is also the player who fans recognised as giving the most back through their openness and time off the field.

Ward Hadaway Spirit of Super League– Jamie Jones-Buchanan (Leeds Rhinos)
Sponsors Ward Hadaway selected the player who personifies Betfred Super League’s values of sportsmanship and commitment and who has earned the respect of their peers.

Top Try Scorer– Tommy Makinson (St Helens)
23 tries this season and named in the Dream Team for the third time. He was also the top meter maker for 2019.

Top Tackler– Danny Houghton (Hull FC)
1259 tackles this season for the five-time winner of this award.

Young Player of the Year– Matty Lees (St Helens)
Breakthrough year for the St Helens prop, as voted for by the Rugby League media.

Coach of the Year– Justin Holbrook (St Helens)
St Helens won the League Leaders Shield with five games to go. It’s their successive league title under Holbrook.

The Telegraph Woman of Steel– Courtney Hill (Leeds Rhinos)
The Australian former cricketer has been the standout player in the women’s game, as voted for by her fellow players.

Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel– Jackson Hastings (Salford Red Devils)
A panel of legends ranked the top three players in every game of the regular season using a 3, 2, 1 system. Hastings was 12 point clear at the close of the regular season.

Principal Club Partners

LWC Logo

Platinum Club Partners

Kinaxia Logistics logo
Elcons Logo
Astar Recruitment logo

Associate Club Partners

St Helens College logo

Official Club Partners

Box Holders